Central Surgical Association
Enrichment Award and Turcotte Award

Application Deadline: January 24, 2023 Past Recipients Online Application
Support for the Enrichment Award provided by Elsevier, Inc.
*Support for the Enrichment Award
provided by Elsevier, Inc.

The Central Surgical Association Foundation offers two annual awards, the Enrichment Award* and the Turcotte Award, each in the amount of $20,000, to support surgical scholarship and research as well as to advance the science of surgery.

The mission of the Central Surgical Association Foundation (CSAF) is to enrich the discipline of surgery and the surgical careers of members of the Central Surgical Association. This goal is achieved by supporting grant proposals that will broaden the horizon of surgery and surgeons including the support of projects that may not be funded from other sources. The CSAF welcomes proposals for support of a wide spectrum of projects including surgical ethics, education, epidemiology, biostatistics, health care delivery, and computer science, as well as traditional, clinical, or laboratory research.

Who Should Apply?
The applicant must have completed surgical training, be a CSA member in good standing or have an application currently in process for CSA membership. Special consideration will be given to member applicants who are junior faculty at the Assistant Professor level who have not yet obtained federal funding (K, R series NIH or equivalent DoD funding) to support early career development and to serve as seed money to obtain these grants in the future. All research proposals must have IRB approval (or documentation of exemption) at the time of submission.

Apply Now

Application Checklist

Award Provisions

January 24, 2023 Application Submission Deadline
Mid-February 2023 Applications Reviewed
Late February 2023 Notification to Applicants

If you have any questions, please contact the CSA office at (978) 927-8330 or via Email. Please note the timeline of reviewing and notifying applicants is estimated and dates may vary slightly. Only online applications will be considered.